Fans celebrate the Big O’s historic season as Robertson remains in the news

March 16, 2012

Oscar Robertson, a founding member of the National Basketball Retired Players Association, continues to be as versatile in life as he once was on the court. It has been 50 years since The Big O averaged the only triple double in NBA History – 30.8 points, 12.5 rebounds, and 11.4 assists per game for the 1961-62 NBA season as a member of the Cincinnati Royals — but he remains as formidable as ever in basketball and beyond.

Robertson’s 1961-62 season remains second-to-none and has been celebrated far and wide across the media, including, the Cincinnati Enquirer and Hardwood Paroxysm. Robertson also remains in the news as a national spokesman for prostate cancer and will be giving out the Oscar Robertson Trophy on behalf of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association on March 30 during the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, is the premier men’s college player of the year award. It is also the only player of the year award actually named after a player — in this case, the National Association of Basketball Coaches’ “Player of the Century.”

The 2012 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented by The Big O himself at the U.S. Basketball Writers Association awards breakfast, Friday, March 30 at 8 a.m. at the Marriott Hotel in New Orleans, just prior to the Final Four. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year award, the Good Guy award, the Most Courageous award, and the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year award will also be presented. Former LSU Coach Dale Brown, who took the Tigers to two Final Four appearances, will also be honored. To purchase tickets to the breakfast, click here.

Leading up to the Oscar Robertson Trophy presentation, the USBWA selects an Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week, and those players are generally among the finalists for the Trophy.

The trophy is an 18″ bronze sculpture created in 2005 by world-renowned St. Louis sculptor Harry Weber on commission from the USBWA and is based on the famous photo of Oscar Robertson rebounding against Kansas State. Weber’s bronze sculptures are in the permanent collections of the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY and the National Dog Museum, as well as private collections across the U.S. and overseas, and have been featured at the Museum of Fine Arts in Newport, Rhode Island.

UCLA has the most Oscar Robertson Trophy winners with nine, followed by Duke University with seven. Kenyon Martin was the first University of Cincinnati player to win the award since The Big O himself last won in 1960. For the complete list of winners since 1959, click here and scroll to the bottom of the page.

Two permanent display cases, one of Oscar Robertson Trophy winners and one of memorabilia from The Big O’s career dating back to Indianapolis Crispus Attucks High School, have been set up in the entrance hall at Conseco Fieldhouse, home of the Indiana Pacers and site of the 2006 Oscar Robertson Trophy presentation. Larry Bird, president of basketball operations for the Pacers, assisted The Big O in unveiling the display cases.

For more in this prestigious award and all things related to Oscar Robertson, please visit