September 9, 2016

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, congratulates the family of Cumberland Posey on his induction into the 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Posey is considered the greatest African American player of his time (he played from the early 1900s through mid-1920s). He was not only a great basketball player but a great baseball player as well. He created, managed and played for the legendary “Loendi Big Five.” His team was the most dominant of the black fives era winning four straight Colored Basketball World Championships. Posey’s baseball career spanned 35 years, both on the field and as businessman. He was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2006.

Inducting Cumberland Posey into the Hall of Fame will be Earl Monroe.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held this Friday, September 9th at Springfield Symphony Hall.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.