September 8, 2016

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, congratulates Shaquille O’Neal on his induction into the 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Shaquille O’Neal’s list of accomplishments included being a three-time NBA Finals MVP, NBA MVP in 2000, Rookie of the Year in 1993, and winning four championships in the NBA, three with the Los Angeles Lakers and one with the Miami Heat. A 15-time NBA All Star, he ranks seventh on the NBA All-Time scoring list.

O’Neal played 19 years in the NBA averaging 23.7 points, 10.9 rebounds and 2.3 blocks per game. O’Neal is an Olympic gold medalist and a member of the NBA 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

Inducting Shaquille O’Neal into the Hall of Fame will be Julius Erving, Alonzo Mourning, Bill Russell, and Isiah Thomas.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held this Friday, September 9th at Springfield Symphony Hall.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.