September 9, 2016

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, congratulates Sheryl Swoopes on her induction into the 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Sherryl Swoopes is considered one of the greatest women’s basketball players of all time. While in the WNBA, she made the All Star team six times, was named Defensive Player of the year three times, won the WNBA three times and won four straight WNBA Championships with the Houston Comets.

Swoopes is also a three-time Olympic gold medalist and a member of the WNBA All-Decade Team.

Inducting Sheryl Swoopes into the Hall of Fame will be NBRPA Board Member and fellow Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman and Van Chancellor.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held this Friday, September 9th at Springfield Symphony Hall.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.