September 9, 2016

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, congratulates Zelmo Beaty on his induction into the 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Known as “Big Z”, Beaty averaged 25 points and 20 rebounds per game during his college career at Prairie View A&M. He led them to the 1962 NAIA Championship while earning the Chuck Taylor MVP Award. As a pro, he was a two time NBA All-Star and three-time ABA All-Star. He helped lead the Utah Stars to an ABA Championship in 1971 and was awarded the ABA Playoffs Most Valuable Player Award.

Inducting Zelmo Beaty into the Hall of Fame will be Lenny Wilkens.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held this Friday, September 9th at Springfield Symphony Hall.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.