February 17, 2017

With the 2017 All Star Weekend right around the corner, Legends of Basketball joined National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) President and CEO Arnie Fielkow in a number of events across the Greater New Orleans Area with a clear educational focus.

To start off the day, NBRPA Board Member Kenny Gattison and WNBA great Barbara Farris joined Mr. Fielkow on visits to Chalmette High School in St. Bernard Parish and Lake Forest Charter School in New Orleans East. The rallies focused on encouraging students of all ages to build upon the leadership skills one can gain from sports and academic pursuits.

Later in the day, NBRPA member Jerome Williams joined NBRPA Chapter leaders at Joseph S. Clark Preparatory High School in New Orleans’ historic Treme neighborhood, Keeping to the educational theme, the members talked about the importance of mentorship.

Wintrust, the lead financial partner of the NBRPA, officially welcomed all early-bird registrants to New Orleans at a Big Easy style reception early Thursday evening. At the reception, the NBRPA commemorated its founding members Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens, Dave DeBusschere and Oscar Robertson in celebration of the organization’s 25th Anniversary.

The evening wrapped up with a showing of the critically acclaimed film ‘ON THE MAP’ at the Jewish Community Center in Uptown New Orleans. The film celebrates the 40th Anniversary year of the basketball game that changed Israel and international sports forever. Prior to the screening, guests had the opportunity to mingle with Tal Brody (Maccabi USA Alum, and Israel’s Goodwill Ambassador), Mr. Fielkow, and NBA Hall of Famers Rick Barry, Dave Cowens, and Nancy Lieberman


 About the National Basketball Retired Players Association

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.