Archie Dees (1936 – 2016)

April 5, 2016

Archie Dees (February 22, 1936 – April 4, 2016) passed away at the age of 80 in Bloomington, Indiana. A 6'8" forward/center born in Ethel, Mississippi, Dees started his basketball career at Mount Carmel High School in Mount Carmel, Illinois, where he was named an All-American his senior year. Afterwards he attended Indiana University, where he received the Big Ten Conference Most Valuable Player award twice, in 1957 and 1958. He is one of just three people (the others being Jerry Lucas and Scott May) to have received multiple Big Ten MVP honors. When he graduated in 1958, he was drafted by the Cincinnati Royals of the National Basketball Association, and he went on to play four seasons in the league with the Royals, Detroit Pistons, Chicago Packers, and St. Louis Hawks. Dees was inducted into the Indiana University Hall of Fame in 1983. In 2001, he was named to the Indiana University All-Century Team.


About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.