April 21, 2016

in post pic
The Atlanta Chapter of the National Basketball Retired Players Association recently held a special charity mixer on April 19. At this special event, the NBRPA Atlanta Chapter announced their official partnership with Breakthrough Atlanta, the national program that increases educational opportunity for motivated middle school students from metro Atlanta public schools and inspires talented high school and college students to pursue careers in education.

Representatives from both organizations were on hand along with local and national media outlets and some of Atlanta's most influential people.

The event also provided patrons an opportunity to chat with NBRPA Atlanta Chapter members and plenty of networking opportunities.

At the event, the organizations announced plans for a special celebrity basketball game that will take place on Saturday, June 11, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. at The Lovett School Wallace Gymnasium. Supported by NBA Cares and Wells Fargo, the game will feature a friendly competition between Team Dale Ellis and Team Dikembe Mutombo along with fellow NBA legends Zach Randolph, Courtney Alexander, Shawn Marion, Rod Sellers, Kevin Willis, Theo Ratliff, Dennis Scott, Brian Oliver, Brian Domalick, Mark Davis and many more. Visitors can go to for more information on when tickets will go on sale.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.

About Breakthrough Atlanta
Breakthrough Atlanta's (BTA) programs help middle and high school students develop the academic skills and study habits to enroll and succeed in college--and, ultimately, in life. BTA celebrated its inaugural summer in 1996 on the campus of The Lovett School. Its mission is two-fold: to provide an academically intense pathway to college for motivated metro Atlanta public school students to encourage academic success; and to provide an intensive hands-on teacher training experience (internship) for high school and college students, inspiring a new generation of teachers. Breakthrough Atlanta is a member of a thriving national network called Breakthrough Collaborative. There are 33 Breakthrough sites in the U.S. and 1 in Hong Kong. Breakthrough Atlanta students come from metro Atlanta public schools and represent more than 70 zip codes. More than 85% of BTA students go to college.