September 21, 2015

National Basketball Retired Players Association member Bill Laimbeer was named the WNBA's Coach of the Year Thursday. Laimbeer led the New York Liberty to the best record in the WNBA for the first time in their franchise history.

Laimbeer also won the award in 2003 when he was head coach of the Detroit Shock, where he led the franchise to three WNBA championships in 2003, 2006, and 2008. He is the fourth coach in WNBA history to win the award at least twice.

During his tenure in the NBA, Laimbeer was a key contributor to the Detroit Pistons from 1981 to 1994 where he was a two-time NBA champion, a four time NBA All Star, and led the league in rebounds in 1986. The Pistons retired Laimbeer's No. 40 jersey in 1995 one year after his retirement.

Under Laimbeer's leadership this season, the Liberty finished the season 23-11 and clinched the number 1 seed in the Western Conference for the 2015 WNBA Playoffs.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.