Brooks Thompson (1970-2016)

June 13, 2016

Brooks Thompson (July 19, 1970 – June 9, 2016) has passed away. Thompson played collegiate basketball at Texas A&M University and Oklahoma State University before he was selected by the Orlando Magic in the first round of the 1994 NBA Draft. He would go on to play four seasons in the NBA. As soon as his playing days were over, Thompson entered the coaching world, returning to Oklahoma State as an assistant coach. In 2006, he was hired as head coach of the University of Texas at San Antonio where he served in the role for ten seasons. During his tenure, Thompson UTSA to the school's first ever NCAA Tournament win when the Roadrunners defeated Alabama State.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.