September 28, 2015

National Basketball Retired Players Association member Irving Thomas was recently honored in Opa-locka, Florida where he returned to his childhood city to accept a proclamation from the mayor, the commission, and citizens of Opa-locka.

Thomas moved to Opa-locka as a child and attended Miami Carol City Senior High where he led the varsity basketball team to a Class 6A state championship during his senior year. He played college basketball at University of Kentucky and Florida State University before being drafted by the Los Angeles Lakers in 1990. He later played in the minor leagues for two seasons before competing in the European Basketball League for seven years. He officially retired from the court in 2000. In 2001, he joined the Los Angeles Lakers as a scout, where he has served the organization in that role for 14 years.

The city of Opa-locka declared September 9, 2015 as “Irving Thomas Jr. Day” and celebrated his achievements both on and off the court.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.