Dwight Jones (1952-2016)

July 27, 2016

Dwight Jones (February 27, 1952– July 25, 2016) has passed away. Jones played college ball for the University of Houston from 1971-1973. During that time, he was able to join the 1972 U.S. Men’s Basketball Olympic team where he was the team’s leading scorer and rebounder. The team is known for their controversial gold-medal game where they lost to the former Soviet Union in what many feel was an unfair game. Jones was selected as the 9th overall pick in 1973 NBA Draft by the Atlanta Hawks. He played ten seasons in the NBA for the Hawks, Rockets, Bulls and Lakers. He averaged 8 points and 5.9 rebounds during his career.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.