January 26, 2017

The NBRPA congratulates member Kelly Schumacher-Raimon on joining the Chicago Sky organization as Team Development Coach & Advanced Scout.

Kelly helped lead the University of Connecticut Huskies to a NCAA Championship in 2000 where she set a NCAA Women’s Final Four record with nine blocked shots. In the 2001 WNBA draft Kelly was selected by the Indiana Fever and went on to play eight seasons in the league. Kelly is a two-time WNBA Champion with the Phoenix Mercury (2007) and Detroit Shock (2008), and currently ranks 16th all-time in WNBA in blocks per game. Kelly also played nine seasons of professional basketball overseas in Asia and Europe. During her career overseas, she won both the Spanish League Championship and Spanish League Queen’s Cup Championship. In 2006, Kelly was named MVP of the Spanish League Finals.

Following her professional basketball career, Kelly became a professional beach volleyball player and was selected to join the 2000 USA’s Beach National Team. Kelly became a member of the NBRPA in 2016, and served as a coach during the 2016 Full Court Press Clinic in Tampa, Florida.

"I'm excited to be able to come back to basketball in this capacity and work in the WNBA again,” said Kelly Schumacher-Raimon. “I'm eager to share my knowledge for the game with my team and also learn new strategies to aid us in meeting our goals. The Chicago Sky is a solid organization with great fans and support and I'm honored to be part of it."

"The NBRPA is proud of Kelly Schumacher-Raimon and wish her well in her new position as Team Development Coach & Advanced Scout of the Chicago Sky," said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. "Seeing our members receive wonderful opportunities to bring their expertise and experience to the NBA and WNBA is truly a delight and we are happy to have Kelly provide another wonderful example for all former players.”

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.