February 20, 2017

The NBA All-Star Weekend dominated New Orleans, after a last-minute reassignment to the Big Easy to promote equality for all Americans. Historic crowds made for some memorable impromptu street parties, but it only underscored the fact that the National Basketball Retired Players Association was marking its 25th anniversary as the greatest sports alumni association.

The Feb. 19 Legends Brunch at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center was, as usual, the stand-out event of the weekend, made all the more memorable by the recognition afforded the five founders of the NBRPA. As Commissioner Adam Silver emphasized from the start of the program, the power of an idea can change the world. In this case, it changed the way we honor and support the men and women who created today's game of basketball.

All the stars came out: Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens, Oscar Robertson, and the son of the late Dave DeBusschere, Peter. David Robinson accepted Humanitarian of the Year; Grant Hill was presented the Community Ambassador Award; and our own Dwight Davis presented the Legacy Award to Glen Taylor.

panelistsWhile Legends Bob Lanier, Magic Johnson, Ruth Riley and Mr. Robinson talked about the contributions of current and former players to the game, the NBRPA Board was making moves of its own to continue to contribute to this story: Dwight Davis is the new Chair; Mike Glenn, Vice Chair; Clay Shaw, Treasurer; and Nancy Lieberman is Secretary.

“This is a great way to cap another incredible NBA All-Star Weekend, especially at a time where this organization founded to serve the men and women who created today’s basketball, are doing so much to promote excellence and equality through sportsmanship all over the world,” said Chairman Davis, whose extensive history of public service in New Hampshire has earned statewide recognition. “I'm humbled by the opportunity to serve as Chair of the NBRPA. Over the past six years the bar has been raised incredibly high. It is my intention to move our mission even further forward.”

Whether it was fan ops, NBRPA portraits, or NBA Sirius Radio interviews, the Legends were in full force and fittingly, NOLA threw several parades to celebrate during this historic occasion.
About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Dwight Davis, Vice Chairman Mike Glenn, Treasurer Claw Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Dave Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.