July 25, 2016

After three great days of NBRPA members having the opportunity to learn, network and attend seminars at the Legends World Sports Conference, the Farewell Breakfast brought a close to the NBRPA’s annual retreat.

At the farewell breakfast, members, staff, and guests convened one final time to say their goodbyes and remark on the wonderful experiences that they shared for the past three days.

At the breakfast, the NBRPA also took the time to recognize members of the WNBA and the Harlem Globetrotters.

Chasity Melvin, the 2016 Michael Justin Glenn Internship winner, remarked to her fellow WNBA alumni the great things that are possible with the WNBA’s growing partnership with the NBRPA.

“What we created on the court we can create off it,” said Melvin.

Longtime NBRPA member Kym Hampton proudly exclaimed how great it was to see the women joining the organization.

“We (WNBA alumni) are so excited to help the NBRPA grow into the biggest retired players association in the world,” said Hampton.

Former members of the Harlem Globetrotters also took the stage and were happy to see the Globetrotters becoming a growing presence in the NBRPA.

Former Globetrotter player and current owner Mannie Jackson remarked to the members, “Your story is the greatest asset that you have. You are the 1%. Don’t devalue it.”

The Globetrotter players then paid tribute to legend Meadowlark Lemon and even sang a song dedicated to him.

It was a fitting way to end a productive 2016 Legends World Sports Conference as all NBRPA staff, members and guests united as one to celebrate the organization’s accomplishments and to set forth ways to continue to grow it going forward.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.