July 25, 2016

Day two of the National Basketball Retired Players Association Legends World Sports Conference (LWSC) kicked off with the Legends Breakfast in the morning followed by a Members Meeting.

After a delicious breakfast, NBRPA President & CEO Arnie Fielkow and NBRPA Chairman Thurl Bailey welcomed members to the meeting. Arnie remarked how 140 members and 300 guests are attending the LWSC, by far the most attended conference by NBRPA members.

Fielkow remarked how he is happy to see the growth in membership, especially with the Harlem Globetrotters.

“I believe the Globetrotters presents a wonderful opportunity to the NBRPA,” said Fielkow.

He also put a spotlight on how the NBRPA offers over 20 programs that help members in their transition from life after basketball.

Presentations were made from NBRPA staff members including Vice President/General Counsel of Membership, Player& Chapter Development Scott Rochelle, Vice President of Operations and Special Events Erin Miller, Director of Membership Sales Excell Hardy and WNBA Membership Coordinator Brittany Ray.

Also at the meeting, NBA Senior Vice President of Entertainment & Player Marketing Charles Rosenzweig gave a presentation on the growing rise of the NBA and the ongoing partnership between the NBA and NBRPA.

Special awards and member recognition was given and Dr. Dick Barnett gave a moving speech on his career after basketball.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.