MEL DANIELS (1944-2015)

November 2, 2015

NBRPA member Mel Daniels (July 20, 1944 – October 30, 2015), a former ten-year veteran of both the ABA and NBA, has passed away. Daniels played college basketball at the University of New Mexico before being drafted by the Cincinnati Royals in the 1967 NBA Draft and the Minnesota Muskies in the 1967 ABA Draft. Davis chose to play in the ABA, where he was named a seven-time ABA All Star and won the Most Valuable Player twice (1969, 1971). Daniels led the ABA in rebounding average in three different seasons and is the ABA's all-time leader in total rebounds. After nine seasons in the ABA, Davis played one season in the NBA before retiring. Davis was selected as a member of the ABA All-Time team. In 2012, he was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame. Davis is one of four players to have his jersey retired by the Indiana Pacers.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.