Murray Wier (1926-2016)

April 14, 2016

Murray Wier (December 12, 1926 – April 6, 2016) has passed away. Wier played college basketball at the University of Iowa, where he had a marvelous career. He holds the distinction as the inaugural NCAA scoring leader during the 1947-1948 season where he was also named a consensus first-team All-American. Wier played professional basketball for the Tri-Cities Blackhawks (now the Atlanta Hawks) under Red Auerbach and the Waterloo Hawks. Following his professional career, Wier gave back to the game by coaching high school basketball. He coached for 24 years and guided his team to a state championship in 1974.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters, and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.