March 14, 2016

National Basketball Retired Players Association board member Nancy Lieberman will be honored this May by the T.J. Martell Foundation as the 2016 Women of Influence award recipient.

The Women of Influence award honors outstanding women who have achieved tremendous goals in business and inspire other women around the globe to live their dreams while balancing their work, family, home and health.

Lieberman played women’s professional basketball from 1980-1987, and also played for the WNBA in its inaugural year in 1997 for the Phoenix Mercury, becoming the oldest player in WNBA history at age 39. She broke her own record in 2008 when she signed with the Detroit Shock at age 50. Lieberman is a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame and the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame. This season, she became the second woman in professional basketball history to serve as an assistant coach on an NBA team.

“Nancy Lieberman is the embodiment of being a woman of influence and is most deserving of this distinguished honor,” said Arnie D. Fielkow, President & Chief Executive Officer for the NBRPA. “We are proud to have Nancy as a representative of the NBRPA and know that she will continue to serve as a shining example to all women and former players.”

The T.J. Martell Foundation’s Women of Influence luncheon will take place on Friday, May 13 from 11:30am EST to 2:30pm EST at The Plaza Hotel Terrace Room (768 5th Avenue, New York, New York 10019).

Guests looking to attend or wishing to make a donation can visit Proceeds will benefit The T.J. Martell Foundation’s Breast and Ovarian Cancer Research programs. The T.J. Martell Foundation, founded in 1975 by the music industry, is a national nonprofit organization that funds cutting-edge research for leukemia, cancer and AIDS at top research hospitals in the United States.
About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.