Nate Thurmond (1941-2016)

July 16, 2016

Nate Thurmond (July 25, 1941 – July 16, 2016) has passed away. Thurmond is considered one of the greatest big men to ever play the game. He played collegiate basketball at Bowling Green where he had a historic career with the Falcons. In all three seasons at Bowling Green, he was named to First-Team All-Mid American Conference. After his junior season, he declared for the NBA Draft where the San Francisco Warriors took him 3rd overall. During his eleven seasons with the Warriors, Thurmond averaged 17.4 points and 16.9 rebounds a game. Thurmond set an NBA milestone in 1974 when he became the first player to record an official quadruple double with points, rebounds, assists and blocks. He also holds the NBA regular season record for rebounds in a quarter with 18. Thurmond also played with the Cleveland Cavaliers and Chicago Bulls for two seasons each before retiring. Thurmond was a seven-time All Star and was voted to the All-Defensive first or second team five times. Following his career, Thurmond has been voted as one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA history, and was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1985 and the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006. His number 42 is retired by both the Warriors and the Cavaliers.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.