NBA Fit Clinic wrapped up the weekend In New York

June 28, 2017

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) brought its Full Court Press: Prep For Success program to New York at the Edward Byrne Center on Saturday, June 24th along with several partners including the Jr. NBA, Police Athletic/Activities League (PAL), Leadership Foundations, and Strategies For Youth.
Legends participating in the clinic included Tiny Archibald, Tony Campbell, Teresa Edwards, Kym Hampton, Tom Hoover, Bobby Hunter, and Albert King. While the Legends focused on basketball drills and lessons, the NBRPA partners focused on life lessons off the court. The players also participated in an NBA Fit clinic as a part of Dew3X event on June 25 from 9:30am to 10:30am at Brooklyn Bridge Park.

Tom Hoover, New York Chapter President for the NBRPA, spent the day mentoring the kids on behalf of his organization. He boasted of the day’s activities and how he connected with the kids at the clinic, “Kids are always looking for that person who has done something that they are trying to achieve: it is very alluring if the person happens to be a former star player,” he said. “If you just look the kids in the face then there will be no issues.”

The Full Court Press: Prep for Success program will next visit San Diego, CA in July.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA, and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Scott Rochelle is Acting President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Dwight Davis, Vice Chairman Mike Glenn, Treasurer Casey Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman, and Eldridge Recasner.