February 25, 2014

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only alumni association comprised of former NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA players, announced that basketball legend Nancy Lieberman has been appointed to its Board of Directors. Lieberman becomes the first female to serve on the NBRPA’s Board of Directors, following a historic vote in August, 2013 to welcome in former WNBA players as members.

“Nancy Lieberman is a true Legend of Basketball and her unique experiences as a pioneer for the sport will serve the NBRPA well,” said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. “Nancy has impacted both the men’s and women’s game in her career and she is uniquely qualified to help us build membership and programming for all facets of the NBRPA.”

Lieberman’s extensive basketball resume includes WNBA player, coach, general manager, sports broadcaster for ABC, NBC, ESPN, and FOX Sports Southwest (FSSW), motivational speaker, author and the first female coach of a men's team under the NBA umbrella. Lieberman was also the first woman to play in a men's professional league (USBL). Currently, she serves as the assistant general manager for the Texas Legends, NBA Development League team and official minor league affiliate of the Dallas Mavericks.

“Being appointed to the Board of the National Basketball Retired Players Association is an honor and a privilege,” Lieberman said. “I am excited to join with so many amazing players that continue to deeply care about today's players, the history of the game and how to impact children in communities all over the world.  The bar is set high and I'm honored to be on this team.”

The NBRPA has 650+ former NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA players in its membership. In August, 2013, the NBRPA announced its inaugural class of former WNBA players as members: Cynthia Cooper-Dyke, Nikki McCray, Carla McGhee, Dawn Staley, Sheryl Swoopes, Penny Toler and Teresa Weatherspoon. The NBRPA made Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Lynette Woodard its first female member in February of 2013. Woodard was eligible for membership as a former Harlem Globetrotters player.

In addition to Lieberman’s appointment to the Board of Directors during NBA All-Star 2014 in New Orleans on February 16, the NBRPA welcomed in new Board Members Dwight Davis and Eldridge Recasner. Otis Birdsong was reelected as Chairman of the Board, Thurl Bailey as Vice Chairman, Marvin Roberts as Treasurer and Steve Hayes as Secretary. In addition, the NBRPA Board of Directors named the following committee chairs: Marvin Roberts – Finance, Audit & Compensation Committee, George Tinsley - Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee, Johnny Newman - Business Development Committee and Steve Hayes - Membership Service & Benefits Committee.