January 24, 2017

CHICAGO, ILL. – The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the official Association comprised of NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters, will mark its 25th anniversary at the 2017 NBA All-Star weekend celebration in New Orleans, LA, February 17-19.

The All-Star Weekend is a magnificent celebration of basketball featuring the league’s top rising players. This year’s festivities will honor the 25th Anniversary of the NBRPA and its many milestones.

"We look forward to once again welcoming the NBRPA family to New Orleans for All-Star Weekend 2017,” said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. "The City of New Orleans has always welcomed us with open arms and we look forward to hosting a number of fun and enjoyable events.”

The 2017 Legends All-Star Weekend Celebration will kick off with an exclusive Legends Welcome Reception presented by Wintrust at Harrah’s Casino on February 17. Here, the NBRPA will commemorate its founding members Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens, Dave DeBusschere and Oscar Robertson in celebration of the organization’s 25th Anniversary. On February 18, the NBRPA will host a special Legends Breakfast with Athletes in Action and All-Star Saturday Night Watch Party at BB King’s Blues Club. The NBRPA’s signature All-Star Weekend event, the 18th Annual Legends Brunch, will take place on All-Star Sunday, February 19, at the New Orleans Convention Center and will be televised on NBA TV.

Please visit www.legendsofbasketball.com and the NBRPA’s social media for continued updates.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.