NBRPA congratulates members Mourning and Richmond on Hall of Fame election

April 7, 2014

Today the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced NBRPA Members Alonzo Mourning and Mitch Richmond as part of its 2014 class at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Dallas. Also included in the new class are former NCAA coaches Nolan Richardson and Gary Williams.

"We would like to congratulate Alonzo and Mitch on their election to the Hall of Fame," said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. "Both of these fine men represent excellence both on and off the court and we are proud to have them as part of the NBRPA Family."

Mourning was a seven-time NBA All-Star, NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 1999 and 2000, ranked top-five in blocked shot nine times, averaged 20 or more points six times, stands 10th all-time in career blocks and ranks sixth all-time in blocked shots per game. He was a member of the Miami Heat's 2006 NBA championship team.

Richmond averaged 21.5 points, 4.0 rebounds and 3.6 assists per game over his 14-year NBA career. He won the NBA Rookie of the Year award in 1988-89  as a member of the Golden State Warriors and made six All-Star teams, all with the Sacramento Kings.