February 23, 2017

NEW ORLEANS – The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the official alumni association of former NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters players, elected this past weekend its 2017 Corporate Officers for the coming year, with former Vice Chair Dwight Davis as new Chairman.

Other officers include 9-year NBA Veteran and Fox Sports South analyst Mike Glenn as Vice Chair; Casey Shaw, NBA alum and Vanderbilt Men’s Basketball Assistant Coach, as Treasurer; and Nancy Lieberman, Naismith Hall of Famer and Assistant Coach for the Sacramento Kings, returns as Secretary.

“This is a great way to cap another incredible NBA All-Star Weekend, especially at a time where this organization founded to serve the men and women who created today’s basketball, are doing so much to promote excellence and equality through sportsmanship all over the world,” said incoming Chair Davis, whose extensive history of public service in New Hampshire has earned statewide recognition. “I'm humbled by the opportunity to serve as Chair of the NBRPA. Over the past six years the bar has been raised incredibly high. It is my intention to move our mission even further forward.”

“I am extremely honored to represent all members of the NBRPA,” said incoming Vice Chair Mike Glenn. “I am grateful they have shown their trust in me by awarding this opportunity. I look forward to expanding our influence and sharing the inspirational stories and wisdom of my constituency.”

“As we enter the 25th year of the greatest sports alumni association in the world, I not only leave the organization in good hands, but with men and women ready to carry out a vision to help players transition from the court and continue to serve their community,” said retiring Chair Thurl Bailey, a 12-year NBA veteran. The NBRPA membership is comprised of nearly 900 former players.

“I am honored to have been elected to serve as Treasurer of the NBRPA and excited to have the opportunity to continue to play a small role in advancing our two-fold mission,” said Mr. Shaw. “Having served on the finance committee for the last three years. I have been privileged to see the growth and direction our association has taken in helping former players transition and in community outreach. I am looking forward to continuing to serve our members and strive to grow our great organization.”

Said Ms. Lieberman, “It is an honor and a privilege to serve the members of the NBRPA. We look forward to tremendous success going forward for all that we represent.”

Other NBRPA Directors are Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman, and Eldridge Recasner.
About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Dwight Davis, Vice Chairman Mike Glenn, Treasurer Casey Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.