October 6, 2016

Members of the NBRPA Las Vegas Chapter recently took part in the NBA Legends Shooting for Peace celebrity basketball game between former NBA players and local Las Vegas police officers at Rancho High School.

Shooting for Peace is a program spearheaded by NBA Legends to bring communities together and encourage young people to engage in peaceful activities.

imgOn hand to represent the NBRPA and the NBRPA Las Vegas Chapter included Vegas Chapter President Jerome Williams, NBRPA Board Member and Basketball Hall of Famer Spencer Haywood, former Harlem Globetrotters Warren Rosegreen and Charles Smith, and more.

As part of this special event, READ60 and The JYD Project developed and delivered workbooks to the students to be used from elementary through high school.

Also at the event, students took part in a poetry contest where they were asked to write poems about “Shooting for Peace”. Three students, Braeden Kilburn, Ramiro Hermosillo, and Matthew Alighchi, were declared winners of the contest and were awarded academic scholarships to Alabama State University.

After the game concluded, the players and police officers led a Partying for Peace post-event gathering that included music, food, and a special forum with Henderson, Las Vegas and North Las police officers and the public. The day’s activities proved to be a big success and very valuable to all attendees. Vegas Chapter President Jerome Williams said he hopes to host more of these special events in the future.

"It was very special to be a part of this valuable event,” said Williams. “In times like today, we need to unify more than ever as one to help make a change in a positive direction. We hope events like this will play a part in making that change come to fruition."

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.