April 4, 2017

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the official Alumni Association of NBA, ABA, WNBA, and Harlem Globetrotters, wishes to congratulate University of South Carolina Head Coach Dawn Staley and Assistant Coach Nikki McCray on leading the Gamecocks to their first ever NCAA Women’s Basketball Title.

“We are extremely happy for Dawn Staley and Nikki McCray on their thrilling NCAA Women’s Basketball championship victory,” said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. “Dawn and Nikki were a part of our organization’s inaugural WNBA class and we are so proud to have them as representatives.”

Staley, a six-time WNBA All-Star and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, was named Head Coach of the Gamecocks in 2008 and has since led the school to six NCAA Tournament appearances. This past March, she was named head coach of the USA Basketball Women’s National Team through 2020.

McCray is a three-time WNBA All-Star and has been a part of Staley’s coaching staff since 2008. She won gold medals at the 1996 and 2000 Summer Olympics and participated on America's 1998 FIBA World Championship team.

The City of Columbia will honor Staley, McCray, and the 2017 University of South Carolina Women’s Basketball Team with a championship parade on Sunday, April 9.


About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Dwight Davis, Vice Chairman Mike Glenn, Treasurer Casey Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.