November 8, 2016

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, would like to congratulate members Mark Aguirre, Doug Collins, Lionel Simmons, Jamaal Wilkes and Dominique Wilkins on being named to the 2016 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame. Former NBRPA member and the late, great Bob Boozer will also be inducted into the 2016 National Collegiate Hall of Fame posthumously. Career highlights for the inductees include:

• Mark Aguirre: Played for DePaul University where he was a two-time consensus first-team All-American and the 1980 James Naismith Award winner.

• Doug Collins: Named both an All-American and Academic All-American in each of his seasons at Illinois State University and remains the school’s record holder for career points.

• Lionel Simmons: Only player in NCAA history to score more than 3,000 points and record 1,100 rebounds. He was named Naismith, Wooden, AP and NABC College Player of the Year during his time at La Salle University.

• Jamaal Wilkes: Part of the record-setting UCLA 88-game win streak and led the team to three Final Four appearances with two national titles. He was a two-time consensus first-team All-American.

• Dominique Wilkins: Played for the University of Georgia where he was named SEC Player of the Year and was a second and third-team All-American during his seasons there.

• Bob Boozer: Played for Kansas State University where he led the Wildcats to the Final Four in 1958 and averaged the second most points per game in the school’s history.

The induction events will be celebrated Friday, November 18 in Kansas City with the press conference, red carpet arrival and VIP Reception at College Basketball Experience (1401 Grand Blvd) and the Induction Show at Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland (1228 Main St). For more information, click here.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.