November 4, 2016

CHICAGO, ILL. – The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, will return for its third goodwill trip to Haiti onDecember 8-11. NBRPA Legendsselected for this delegation includeMike Brown, Steve Francis, Taj McWilliams, Mamadou N’diaye, Robert Reid and Charles “Choo” Smith. The delegation will spend three days visiting schools, orphanages, healthcare facilities and governmental agencies.

The NBRPA will partner with the Fondation Enfant Jesus (FEJ), a non-profit that promotes sustainable human development for impoverished children and their families to make this trip possible. FEJ provides full-life development programs such as culturally-sensitive education, child and family advocacy, health services, community building and enhancement and support for entrepreneurship.The NBRPA and  FEJ  have planned a variety of philanthropic eventsincluding basketball clinics/camps in Petionville and Lamardelle.

“We are proud to team up with FEJ again for this very special cause in one of the most culturally rich countries in the world,” said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie Fielkow. “We look forward to returning to Haiti and helping the communities in need and serving as ambassadors for our great sportto raise spirits in the country recently devastated by Hurricane Matthew.”

Media wishing to cover the NBRPA’s goodwill trip to Haiti, or wishing to speak with the NBRPA Members embarking on the mission may contact Jonathan Barnes at 504-897-6110 or jbarnes@legendsofbasketball.com.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.