September 4, 2015


Higher education scholarships will be awarded to eligible members, spouses, children and grandchildren.

CHICAGO – The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, will award 40 scholarships of more than $3000 apiece for higher education to NBRPA Members and their spouses, children and grandchildren. A cornerstone program of the NBRPA, the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund has awarded nearly $1.5 million in higher education funds to members and their families, and also puts educational grants into communities.

The annual DeBusschere Scholarship output to NBRPA Members and their families has increased substantially due to an exciting new component of the program designed to provide additional educational funds to support low-income scholarship recipients – the Earl Lloyd Scholarship. Named in honor of recently-departed NBRPA Member Earl Lloyd, the NBA’s first African American to play in a regular season NBA game, this new enhancement to the DeBusschere Scholarship is funded by an annual, restricted gift of $50,000 from the NBA Legends Foundation to the NBRPA in order to provide significant financial support to low income recipients of the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship.

“Congratulations to all of our scholarship winners,” said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. “A college degree can open many doors in life after basketball and we are proud to not only offer higher education scholarships to our members through the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund, but also their spouses, children and grandchildren. The Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund is a flagship program for the NBRPA and clearly shows how this organization serves its members and their families.”

The 2015 Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Winners are:

Asiah Avent
Andrea Brown
Aharown Campbell
Tiana Colter
Samuel Corzine
Alana Davidson
Keith Edmonson
Mallory Fredericks
Michael Glenn
Michael Inniger
Damon Jones
Landon Jones
Maya Jones
Zori Jones
Anthony Keeling
Mason Kite
Mollie Kite
Taylor Kite
Alexander Leavell
Amanda Leavell
Tucker Love
Danielle McCormick
Jake McDowell
Camille Range
Sydney Recasner
John Rinaldi
Samuel Roberts
Sophie Roberts
Chanel Stephens
Justin Stith
McKenzie Stock
Conner Toolson
Dallin Toolson
Evelyn Von Nieda
Tristan Von Nieda
Marcus Walker
Jack Wier
Rikardo Williams
Caleb Wood
Josiah Wood

“On behalf of the NBRPA Board of Directors, I would like to congratulate all of our 2015 Dave DeBusschere Scholarship winners,” said NBRPA Board Member Thurl Bailey, who serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors. “We wish all of our scholarship students the best of luck this fall and commend them for their hard work.”

About the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund
The NBRPA strongly believes every member of its extended basketball family should have access to higher education, regardless of his or her financial status. To do its part in furthering this goal, the NBRPA established the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund more than a decade ago in honor of the late Dave DeBusschere, an NBA Champion, All-Star and NBRPA Founder. The DeBusschere Fund provides financial support to eligible NBRPA members, their spouses, children and grandchildren pursuing degrees in higher education.

The scholarship’s namesake, Dave DeBusschere, enjoyed a prolific career as an NBA player. Shortly after his passing in 2003, DeBusschere’s children established this program under the NBRPA umbrella. As a player, DeBusschere dominated on the court for 12 seasons, earning two championship rings with the New York Knicks, eight NBA All-Star Game appearances and induction into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.