Pearl Washington (1964-2016)

April 20, 2016

Dwayne “Pearl” Washington (January 6, 1964 - April 19, 2016) has passed away. Washington developed his famous “Pearl” nickname from friends because his game resembled legend Earl “The Pearl” Monroe. Washington played at Syracuse from 1983 to 1986 where he led the school in both assists and steals in all three years. He was named an All-American in each year of his Syracuse career. His in-game flair and mastery of the ‘shake and bake’ made Washington a phenomenon at the school and in the local area. He was drafted by the New Jersey Nets in the 1986 NBA Draft where he went on to play three seasons in the league. Washington remained beloved at Syracuse following his basketball days and is one of the most beloved athletes the school has ever had. The university retired his number 31 jersey in March 1996.

A GoFundMe has been set up to help his family pay for his medical care.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.