March 8, 2018

Spencer Haywood elected Chairman, Sam Perkins, Johnny Davis
and Jerome Williams named new board members

CHICAGO (March 6, 2018) – The National Basketball Retired Players Association’s Board of Directors announced today that Scott Rochelle has been hired as CEO, a role he has held on an interim basis since April 2017. The decision to hire Rochelle comes as a result of an eight month, nationwide search. Rochelle will lead the national organization, its board of directors and the growth of the associations’ 11 local chapters.

The board also confirmed the membership-elected new board members and a new chairman to lead the association. Spencer Haywood will serve as Chairman of the Board and Johnny Davis, Sam Perkins and Jerome Williams have been named to new board terms.

Davis, Williams and Perkins will join the existing Board of Directors, Chairman Spencer Haywood, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Casey Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, David Naves and Eldridge Recasner.

“As we went through the process of finding our next CEO, we knew we needed a person who exhibited a true passion for our membership, a shared vision for the future and a commitment to providing the resources needed to meet the challenges facing all former players as they transition into life after the game,” said NBRPA Founder and NBA great Dave Cowens. “Scott exhibited all of those qualities, and more. On behalf of the board and our membership, we are proud to select Scott Rochelle as our next CEO to lead our association into the future.”

Rochelle’s career with the NBRPA began in 2013, when he served in various roles including legal counsel and membership, programming and business development before being named interim president and CEO in April 2017. Over the past 10 months, Rochelle has overseen the NBRPA’s day-to-day operations, including securing new national partners and growing the NBRPA’s signature initiatives, such as Full Court Press: Prep for Success Youth Clinics.

Prior to joining the NBRPA, Rochelle worked for the law firm of Querrey & Harrow, Ltd. in Chicago, where he represented government and corporate entities, and in particular, served as legal counsel to the NBRPA.

“I am incredibly honored to lead an organization that makes a difference in the lives of former basketball players,” said Rochelle. “The team that we have in place has accomplished so much and as we look ahead, we will continue to push forward and focus on finding partners and people that align with our mission.”

For more details on the NBRPA, visit

Media Contact:
Brad Shulkin

About The National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Scott Rochelle is President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Spencer Haywood, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Casey Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, Johnny Davis, James Donaldson, David Naves, Sam Perkins, Eldridge Recasner, Jerome Williams.