April 4, 2016

The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, congratulates our members Shaquille O’Neal, Sheryl Swoopes, and Yao Ming for being named to the 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

“Shaquille O’Neal, Sheryl Swoopes and Yao Ming are part of a select few basketball players who changed the game not only on the court but off the court as well,” said Arnie D. Fielkow, President & Chief Executive Officer for the NBRPA. “We are very proud of their induction into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and are honored to have them as representatives of our organization.”

Shaquille O’Neal’s list of accomplishments included being a three-time NBA Finals MVP, NBA MVP in 2000, Rookie of the Year in 1993, and winning four championships in the NBA, three with the Los Angeles Lakers and one with the Miami Heat. A 15-time NBA All Star, he ranks seventh on the NBA All-Time scoring list.

Sheryl Swoopes is considered one of the greatest women’s basketball players of all time. While in the WNBA, she made the All Star team six times, was named Defensive Player of the year three times, won the WNBA three times and won four straight WNBA Championships with the Houston Comets.

Along with being an eight-time All Star while in the NBA, Yao Ming’s emergence in the NBA helped create a new fan base for the league in China. His impact continues to be seen today as the NBA is more global than ever before.

Others selected to the 2016 Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame include former referee Darrell Garretson, Allen Iverson, Tom Izzo, John McLendon, Zelmo Beaty, Cumberland Posey and Jerry Reinsdorf. The Class of 2016 will be enshrined at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts on Friday, September 9.

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Eldridge Recasner, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., David Naves, Johnny Newman and Casey Shaw.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.