April 29, 2014

The National Basketball Retired Players Association, the only alumni association directly supported by the NBA and National Basketball Players Association, today issued the following statement regarding NBA Commissioner Adam Silver’s decision to ban Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling from the league for life:

“Today the NBA and Commissioner Adam Silver took action that speaks loud and clear in the face of racism and bigotry – hatred and prejudice will not be tolerated. Donald Sterling’s revolting words and sickening attitude toward African-Americans deeply hurt not only the basketball community, but also society at-large. Mr. Sterling’s behavior is appalling and unacceptable and we commend the Commissioner for taking a strong and appropriate stand.

As the official alumni organization for professional basketball, the National Basketball Retired Players Association has also stood tall in the face of Mr. Sterling’s hateful statements. We are proud of our members, including Chairman Otis Birdsong, Vice Chairman Thurl Bailey, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Greg Anthony, Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson, Mayor Kevin Johnson, Norm Nixon, Dominique Wilkins and dozens more for speaking up against bigotry and making sure retired players had a voice in this defining and historic moment. It is our hope that this very sad event puts a spotlight on the continuing prejudice and discrimination that still exists in our country and educates society about such hatred as we work to end bigotry and racism once and for all.”


About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA. It is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization with a two-pronged mission to assist former NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA players in their transition from the playing court into life after the game, while also positively impacting communities and youth through basketball. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA, National Basketball Players Association and WNBA. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Otis Birdsong, Vice Chairman Thurl Bailey, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Steve Hayes, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Past Chairman George W. Tinsley Sr., Rick Barry, Dwight Davis, Spencer Haywood, Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.