The Nancy Lieberman Foundation awards four educational college scholarships to outstanding high school student-athletes

July 23, 2014

The Nancy Lieberman Foundation is proud to award its second annual Nancy Lieberman Educational Scholarships to four high school senior student-athletes in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. These annual scholarships are available to high school seniors who participate in varsity or junior varsity athletics, are in good academic standing, and are actively involved in the community.

The Nancy Lieberman Foundation, along with the generous contributions of the Gary and Christine Jones Foundation and Andeler Power, makes the four $10,000 scholarships possible. The Nancy Lieberman Foundation provides a healthy, physical, emotional, and mental environment for young girls and boys to build confidence and self-esteem so they make positive choices for their future. Nancy Lieberman is dedicated to expanding and ensuring that sports and educational opportunities exist for youths through basketball camps and clinics, DreamCourts, and educational programs.

"In just our second year awarding educational scholarships we have gone from two scholarships to four higher education opportunities for deserving student-athletes," said Nancy Lieberman, Founder of The Nancy Lieberman Foundation. "We are proud of this investment in today’s youth to help students realize their dreams, encourage education, and defray college expenses."

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must be high school seniors in the DFW Metroplex, have excelled on the sports field and in academics, have taken part in community service and exhibited leadership traits that have marked Nancy Lieberman’s life and career. Students are not eligible for this scholarship if they have already received a full athletic scholarship to an accredited university.

The 2014 Nancy Lieberman Educational Scholarships are awarded to Garrett Littlejohn, Karla Garcia, Efthimios Gianitsos and Tiana Smith. The following is a brief description of the awardees’ accomplishments:

A graduate of Godley High School, Garrett Littlejohn plans to attend Texas A&M University to pursue a degree in mechanical engineering. He was nominated and inducted into the National Honor Society and elected Class President his senior year. A member of varsity golf, baseball, football, and tennis teams, Garrett Littlejohn was voted MVP and 1st Team All-County for baseball and a member of Godley’s District Champion golf team.

Karla Garcia, from Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School, will attend The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to study business management. She was a member of the varsity lacrosse team and won the Wendy’s High School Heisman and 2010 SummerBounce Peacemaker awards. Karla Garcia was also an AP scholar with distinction.

Efthimios Gianitsos, from Flower Mound High School, will attend The University of Texas and double major in computer science and mathematics. He was a National Merit Commended Scholar and won the Principal’s Leadership Award. Efthimios Gianitsos played varsity football and was on the varsity wrestling team during his senior year where he won the THSCA Academic All-State 1st Team Award for both sports.

Tiana Smith, from West Mesquite High School, will attend Texas A&M University and work toward a pre-med degree in biology. She was a member of Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) and volunteered with the Muscular Dystrophy Telethon in 2011. Tiana Smith maintained AP courses through her high school career, and was a varsity cheerleader for West Mesquite.