Tom McMillen Named 1A Athletic Directors’ Association President and CEO

September 22, 2015


The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only Association comprised of NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA alumni, congratulates member Tom McMillen on being named 1A Athletic Directors’ Association President and CEO.

McMillen, a former University of Maryland and professional basketball standout, U.S. Congressman and Rhodes scholar, will be a key component in the restructured 1A Association helping to serve member athletics directors in better navigating the rapidly changing landscape of collegiate athletics as the association expands its mission by providing increased resources in the areas of advocacy, legislative services, business analytics, and professional training.

In 1974, McMillen was drafted in the first round of the NBA Draft by the Buffalo Braves and the first round of the ABA Draft by the Virginia Squires. His career spanned 11 years where he played for the Braves, New York Knicks, Atlanta Hawks, and Washington Bullets before retiring to pursue a career in politics. He was elected to the U.S. Congress in 1986 to represent Maryland’s 4th district. He served in this role from 1987-1993.

"The NBRPA is very proud of Tom’s newest achievement," said NBRPA President & CEO Arnie D. Fielkow. "He is a shining example of our members making a difference in life after the game."

About the National Basketball Retired Players Association
The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.