# National Basketball Retired Players Association, Inc. BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES

# August 6, 2014

6:00 p.m. – 6:56 p.m. EST

#### I. Roll Call

- a. Thurl Bailey
- b. Rick Barry
- c. Otis Birdsong
- d. Dwight Davis
- e. Bob Elliott
- f. Spencer Haywood
- g. Nancy Lieberman
- h. Eldridge Recasner
- i. Marvin Roberts
- j. George Tinsley

#### II. Other Attendees

- a. Arnie D. Fielkow, President and CEO
- b. Scott Rochelle, General Counsel

#### III. Absent

- a. Steve Hayes
- b. Johnny Newman

## IV. Approval of July 1, 2014 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

- a. A brief discussion of the minutes ensued.
- b. Motion to approve the July 1, 2014 Board of Directors meeting minutes by Nancy Lieberman. The motion was seconded by Thurl Bailey. The motion passed unanimously.

### V. DeBusschere Approval

a. The NBRPA received a total of Forty (40) applications for the 2014 Debusschere Scholarship Program. Of the applications received, Thirty Five (35) were filed on time, complete, and met all of the requirements ("Compliant"). It is recommended that the Board of Directors approve scholarships to these Thirty Five (35) applications.

- b. Motion by the committee to approve the Thirty Five (35) Compliant DeBusschere Scholarship Applications. The motion was seconded by Bob Elliott. The motion passed unanimously.
- c. The 2015 DeBusschere Scholarship application requires all applications to be received by the deadline of July 21, 2014. The applications of Michael Glenn and Terrah Mustaf were received after the deadline. It is recommended that these Two (2) applications be denied the 2015 DeBusschere Scholarship.
- d. Motion by the committee to deny the DeBusschere Scholarship applications of Michael Glenn and Terrah Mustaf. The motion was seconded by Thurl Bailey. The motion passed unanimously.
- e. The 2015 DeBusschere Scholarship application requires all applicants who are not applying to college as high school seniors to maintain a 2.75 cumulative G.P.A or higher to qualify for the scholarship. It is recommended that the applications of Riyan Williams, Michael Keeling, and Reginald Williams be denied due to their failure to meet the G.P.A requirement.
- f. Motion by the committee to deny the DeBusschere Scholarship applications of Riyan Williams, Michael Keeling, and Reginald Williams. The motion was seconded by Bob Elliott. The motion passed unanimously.

#### VI. NBPA Board Appointment

- a. Per the NBRPA By-laws, the National Basketball Players Association may appoint a representative to serve on the Board of Directors of the NBRPA. NBRPA Interim Executive Director Ron Klempner has tentatively selected Rich Rinaldi, an NBRPA member as the appointee. An in-depth discussion ensued as to the position, its role, and the NBRPA's benefit of having an NBPA representative on the Board of Directors.
- b. Motion by Thurl Bailey to approve Rich Rinaldi as the NBPA representative on the NBRPA Board of Directors, pending final written approval by Ron Klemper. The motion was seconded by Bob Elliott. Pursuant to a roll call vote, the motion passed by a vote of 9-1 (George Tinsley filed the dissenting vote).

#### VII. Adjourned at 6:56 p.m. EST