NBRPA AWARDS 60 college Scholarships in 2018, 130 in two-year span

 CHICAGO (Aug. 14, 2018) – In 2018, the National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) will deliver on its mission of providing educational opportunities to former basketball players and their families. Through the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund, the NBRPA will award 60 college scholarships to its membership, worth more than $260,000. The scholarship, initiated in honor of the late Dave DeBusschere, provides financial support to eligible NBRPA members, their spouses, children and grandchildren in pursuit of degrees in higher education.

“There is nothing more motivating than giving our children and families opportunities to do great things,” said Board Chairman Spencer Haywood. “We hope this scholarship is just the beginning for them.”

Over the past two years, the NBRPA has distributed 133 scholarships and more than $500,000 in total payouts. To date, the NBRPA has awarded members and their families more than $1.6 million in scholarships through the cornerstone initiative.

In addition to the scholarships, the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund supports the NBRPA Chapter Program’s annual Reading Initiative, wherein educational programs in the twelve chapter cities receive funding.

Some of the DeBusschere scholarship recipients will also receive the Earl Lloyd Scholarship. The NBA Players Legacy Fund, which provides assistance to players in need, will award 10 recipients a scholarship in excess of $50,000.

See below for a full list of scholarship recipients:

Student Name Member Name School Name Expected Grad. Date
Asiah Avent Anthony Avent Seton Hall University 2021
Savanah Bennett Melvin Bennett West Chester University 2020
Mylaisa D. Birdsong Otis Birdsong FAMU 2022
Amiynah Campbell Anthony Campbell University of Albany 2019
Antoine J. Carr Antoine Carr St. Thomas University  
Taylor Carr Antoine Carr Nova Southeastern University 2022
Jazmyn Carthen Roger Brown Northeastern Illinois University 2021
Stephanie Colter R. Steven Colter Florida A&M University 2020
Kaitlin Counts Mel Counts Idaho State University GRAD
Patrick Counts Mel Counts California State University Maritime Academy 2019
Sari Cureton Earl Cureton Georgetown University 2021
Taylor Delk Tony Delk Spelman College 2021
Keith Edmonson Keith Edmonson Concordia University (Texas) 2018
Michaela Falzone Bradley Branson Florida State University 2021
Hayden Gambee Dave Gambee University of Arizona 2020
Reilly Gambee Dave Gambee University of Arizona 2021
Johannah (June) Hamilton James (Joe) Hamilton Oregon State University 2021
Kristina Hill Steve Hayes College of Southern Idaho 2019
Zoey Hill Steve Hayes College of Southern Idaho 2018
Jayda Howard Stephen Howard University of California, Berkeley 2020
Mariah Hutchinson Enoch Bud Olsen  (DECEASED) John Hopkins University 2020
Benjamin Inniger Erv Inniger Winona State University 2022
Logan Jones Ernest Jones Eastern Illinois University 2021
Kaley Jones Samuel Jones University of Florida 2020
Kelli Jones Samuel Jones West Boca Medical School of Radiology 2020
Landon Jones Darrall Imhoff (Deceased) Eastern Oregon University  
Reilly Jones Samuel Jones Xavier University 2020
Samuel Jones Samuel Jones Florida Atlantic University 2019
Caitlin Keefe Adam Keefe Stanford  University  
Anthony H. Keeling Harold Keeling University of Georgia                  2019
Mason Kite Greg Kite Dixie State University 2020
Alexa Lister Alton Lister Charleston Southern University 2020
Adelaide McComb Stanley Lee Von Nieda University of Louisville GRAD
Grace Marie Meschery-McCormack Tom Meschery Occidental College 2021
Noelle Torrie Mitchell E. Todd Mitchell University of Kentucky 2019
Takisha Moncrief Sidney Moncrief Dallas Baptist University 2019
Amara Money-Williams Eric Money Santa Monica College 2020
Elijah O'Bryant Eathan Allen O'Bryant Linfield College                                   2021
Avery Powell Cincinnatus Powell Sr. Northwestern University 2020
Melanie Range Ronnie P. Range University of Illinois 2022
Erin Recasner Eldridge Recasner USC  
Sydney Recasner Eldridge Recasner USC 2019
Samuel Roberts Frederick Roberts University of Utah School of Medicine 2021
Syarra Sellers Brad Sellers Thomas More College 2021
Colton Shreve Steven L. Hayes Portland Community College 2020
Karch Smith Michael John Smith Brigham Young University          2019
Luke Smrek Mike Smrek Marquette University 2020
Reginald Theus Reggie Theus Cal State Northridge 2019
Rhyan Theus Reggie Theus University of Arizona 2020
Jazmine Thomas Irving Thomas Spelman College 2021
Conner Toolson Andy Toolson Utah Valley University 2019
Dallin Toolson Andy Toolson LDS Business College 2021
Trevor Toolson Andy Toolson Brigham Young University 2021
Carly Tower Keith Tower Dartmouth College 2020
Chloe Tower Keith Tower Samford University 2021
Keith Tower Keith Tower Concordia University 2021
Reagan Tripucka Kelly Tripucka University Of Delaware 2020
Tristan Von Nieda Stanley Von Nieda South Dakota School of Mines and Technology 2019
Melody Walters Jumbo Eakins Salt Lake Community College 2020
Holli Wilkins Gerald Wilkins Georgia State University 2016



Media Contact:

Brad Shulkin




The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Scott Rochelle is President and CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Spencer Haywood, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Casey Shaw, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, Johnny Davis, David Naves, Sam Perkins, Eldridge Recasner, Jerome Williams.