CHICAGO, ILL. (Aug. 3, 2020)– The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) continues to deliver on its mission of providing educational opportunities to former professional basketball players and their families. Through the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund, the NBRPA will award 78 undergraduate and graduate scholarships for the 2020-21 school year. The scholarship, initiated in honor of the late Dave DeBusschere, provides financial support to eligible NBRPA members, their spouses, children and grandchildren in pursuit of degrees in higher education.

“Providing financial assistance towards keeping the educational pathway open for our members and their families is important,” said NBRPA Chairman Johnny Davis. “It has the potential to instill a lasting positive impact on the future of our members and their families.”

Ten of the 78 recipients will also receive the Earl Lloyd Scholarship which is pledged by the NBA Players Legacy Fund to recipients in-need of additional support. Collectively, the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund and Earl Lloyd Scholarship will distribute $260,000 amongst eligible students in 2020.

“The NBRPA is thrilled to offer the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund and Earl Lloyd Scholarship to support its members and families in continuing education,” said NBRPA President & CEO Scott Rochelle. “We strongly believe our members and their families should have access to higher education, regardless of their financial status.”

Over the past three years, the NBRPA has distributed 200-plus scholarships and more than $750,000 in total payouts. To date, $1.8 million in scholarships have been awarded to NBRPA members and their families through the cornerstone initiative.

In addition to the college scholarships, the Dave DeBusschere Scholarship Fund supports the NBRPA Chapter Program’s annual Reading Initiative, wherein educational programs in the twelve NBRPA chapter cities receive funding.

See below for a full list of the 2020 Dave DeBusschere Scholarship recipients:

Nurah AbdulazizJason EakinsNancy JonesRace Parks
Shaylynn AdamsJadyn EakinsHouston JonesLucy Parrish
Hailey AyreKeonna EarlAlyssa KeelingSamuel Roberts
Keion BattleKeith EdmonsonMason KiteMayneatha Royal
Ava BirdinKennedi EdneyNatasha KnightCristina Santiago Espinet
Mylaisia BirdsongKolbi-Rae EdneyAlexa ListerSyarra Sellers
Earl A.  Boykins Jr.Michaela FalzoneAlton Lister, Jr.Anna Shaw
Charity BradleyDylan FisherChelsea MayKendall Smith
Mehsai BradleyReilly GambeeStefani McClanahanKarch Smith
Freddy BrownMyles GilbertAlicia McDanielSerena Smith
Isabelle BrownZoey HillMason MeentsEric Snow
Jazmyn CarthenJ'Den HumphriesAmara Money-WilliamsJazmine Thomas
Caley ChapmanBenjamin InnigerCheyenne MontheTrevor Toolson
Stephanie ColterMichael InnigerSydney MontheMelody Walters
Johanna CountsGrant InnigerElijah O'BryantEvan Wilkins
Sari CuretonAlfonso JohnsonEmery O'BryantShyneefa Williams
Jalen Darling-TotTrey JohnsonLiana PachotJordan Wooten
Jajuan Darling-TotShoneia JonesMilton PalacioCraig Matthew Zeiring
Jaelyn DeJesusLogan JonesEmeri Palacio 
Deneal DoolingDominick JonesIseri Palacio 



The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA) is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Scott Rochelle is President and CEO and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Johnny Davis, Vice Chairman Jerome Williams, Treasurer Sam Perkins, Secretary Grant Hill, Thurl Bailey, Caron Butler, Dave Cowens, Dave Naves, Shawn Marion and Sheryl Swoopes.